A Nevada criminal background check can be conducted through the Nevada Criminal History Repository exclusively by the individual whose information is being requested. Therefore, if an employer wishes to receive a criminal history report for an employee through this channel, they will need to have their employee make the request. Nevada law does not permit employers to require background checks of employees or applicants, unless there is reasonable suspicion of a crime having been committed, or if the check is in regards to a job/position of sufficient responsibility/sensitivity to warrant it. Furthermore, an employer cannot implement any adverse action in the case that an employee refuses the criminal background check.
Background checks for employment purposes can only report on convictions or incidents for which the individual is on parole/probation. The State Gaming Board, however, is permitted access to sealed criminal records when investigating applicants for a state gaming license/registration. All costs associated with conducting a criminal history check should be covered by the employer.
Cost – $23.50 (as a money order or certified check made out to the Nevada Department of Public Safety)
Laws – §NRS 613.570
Step 1 – Download the DPS-006 Form
Although it is not stipulated by Nevada law, it would be prudent for employers to obtain their employee’s authorization via a Background Check Authorization Form before conducting a criminal background check. If the employee agrees to have the criminal background check performed, the employer will need to download the Department of Public Safety’s DPS-006 Form and have the employee fill it out.
Step 2 – Obtain Fingerprint Card
Next, the employer will need to have a fingerprint card completed by the employee. You can locate a fingerprinting location near you by using this webpage.
Step 3 – Fill Out the DPS-006 Form
The employee will need to fill out the criminal history request form by providing the following information:
- Full name
- Mailing address
- Contact phone number
- Contact email address
Step 4 – Provide Signature, Date of Birth, and the Date
Next, they will need to provide their signature, date of birth, and the date.
Step 5 – Provide Mailing Address
In the mailing address section, you should fill out your company or organization address information. Indicate the employment-related reason for making this request in the provided field.
Step 6 – Send Form and Attachments Via Mail
Once all of the above steps have been completed, the DPS-006 form, fingerprint card, and check or money order for $23.50 should be stapled together and mailed to the following address:
Department of Public SafetyRecords, Communications and Compliance Division333 West Nye Lane, Suite 100Carson City, Nevada 89706
You should allow up to 45 days for your request to be processed. You will then receive either a positive or negative response. If the response is positive that means that the employee has a criminal record and the complete contents of this record will be included with the response.