A Nebraska gun background check is performed by the County Police or the Nebraska State Patrol when an individual applies for a handgun certificate or a concealed handgun permit. State law defines a handgun as any firearm that has a barrel less than 16 inches in length and/or any firearm that is used with one hand. In order to purchase a handgun, Nebraska residents are required to present either a certificate, which they must apply for at their county sheriff’s office, or a concealed handgun permit from the Nebraska State Patrol (NSP). As long as their handgun permit/certificate is valid, an individual can purchase as many handguns as they want. For the sale of all other firearms in this state, no permit or certificate is required.
Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Application – Must be presented at a Nebraska State Patrol Headquarters in order to obtain a concealed handgun permit.
Firearm Bill of Sale – This form is used to provide a written record of the transaction.
Prohibited from Purchasing – An applicant will not be granted a concealed handgun permit if he/she:
- Has been convicted of a violent crime or felony
- Has not completed a certified firearms safety training course
- Does not possess sufficient powers of eyesight
- Has been a Nebraska resident for less than 180 days
- Is or has been committed to a hospital or institution for mental illness or alcohol/substance abuse
- Is under 21 years of age
For Sale of a Handgun
In order to purchase a handgun from a private dealer, the buyer must present either a handgun permit or a concealed handgun permit to the firearms vendor, along with a state ID. If the credentials are authentic, the vendor is authorized to complete the sale. Although it is not required, it is recommended that the seller make a copy of the buyer’s permit/certificate and driver’s license/state ID. A permit/certificate is not required for the purchase or transfer of a handgun under the following circumstances:
- If the buyer is a licensed firearms dealer
- If the handgun is an antique
- If the buyer is a law enforcement officer
- If it is a temporary transfer within the seller’s field of view
- If it is transferred to a family member
Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit
Step 1 – Before applying for a concealed handgun permit, residents of Nebraska must complete a handgun safety and training course provided by one of the NSP’s list of certified instructors.
Step 2 – Upon completion of a handgun safety and training course, the individual will receive a Certificate of Completion. This document must be presented when they apply for their permit at a DPS Headquarters.
Step 3 – Next, the individual will need to fill out the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Application. Once they have a Certificate of Completion and have completed a permit application form, the person can go to a NSP Headquarters in order to submit their application for a permit.
Step 4 – When the individual wishing to own a handgun presents themselves at NSP Headquarters, they will need to provide their completed permit application, along with the following:
- Proof of identification (drivers license or State ID)
- Proof of training (Certificate of Completion)
- Proof of vision (driver’s license or written testament)
- Proof of address
- Proof of citizenship (birth certificate or passport)
- Fee of $100
A color photograph of the individual will be taken and fingerprinting will take place at the NSP Headquarters.
Step 5 – The NSP will conduct an immediate background check on the applicant.
Step 6 – If the background check confirms the applicants eligibility, they will be issued a Concealed Handgun Permit within five (5) days of the background check’s completion.
Nebraska Handgun Certificate
In order to apply for a Nebraska handgun certificate, an individual must apply at their county sheriff’s office. As long as the individual is over 21 years of age and has not committed a crime or felony, they will be approved for a Firearm Purchase Certificate. Within three (3) days of being approved, they will be able to obtain their certificate. With this certificate, residents of Nebraska are permitted to purchase handguns, but not to carry/conceal them. This certificate is not required for the purchase of rifles or shotguns, only handguns.