A Connecticut gun background check is required for the private sale of firearms and must be performed by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP). Selling of a firearm is prohibited unless the buyer has a permit to carry a handgun, a permit to sell handguns, or a handgun eligibility certificate. Connecticut is a ‘point of contact’ state, meaning the DESPP can conduct background checks using state, as well as, federal records and databases. Persons under the age of eighteen (18) are prohibited from acquiring any type of firearm. Handguns and semi-automatic rifles can only be sold/transferred to individuals twenty-one (21) years of age or older.
Bill of Sale – Required when money is transferred in exchange for a firearm between two individuals.
Application to Purchase a Firearm (Form DPS-67-C) – Must be completed by the individual purchasing a firearm and signed by both the purchaser and seller. (A copy must be retained by the seller for 20 years.)
Sale or Transfer of All Firearms (Form DPS-3-C) – Must be completed by the seller and signed by both the seller and the purchaser. Four (4) copies should be made; one for the seller, one for the purchaser, one for local police authority (where purchaser resides), and one for the DESPP.
Prohibited from Purchasing – Individuals convicted of felonies/misdemeanors as laid out in § 53(a)-(217c).
For Sale of a Gun
Step 1 – First, an individual must present an application to purchase a firearm (Form DPS-67-C). Both buyer and seller must sign this document.
Step 2 – Four (4) copies of the Form DPS-3-C must be completed and distributed to the buyer, local authorities (of seller’s residing county), and the DESPP. The buyer must keep a copy of this document for twenty (20) years.
Step 3 – The seller must obtain an authorization number from the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit (SLFU) of the DESPP. This process can be done over the phone by calling the SFLU at (860) 685-8400 or 1 (888) 335-8438. The SFLU, in conjunction with the National Instant Background Check System, will perform a background check on the buyer and immediately send the results to the seller.
Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) Permit
Connecticut is an open carry state; therefore, individuals with a local or state pistol permit are allowed to carry a revolver openly or concealed. Individuals unable to obtain a local or state firearms permit can be found under Sec. 29-28(b) of the Connecticut Statutes.
Step 1 – Before submitting an application for a Connecticut handgun permit, applicants must complete a handgun safety course which, at the very least, must consist of the NRA’s Basic Pistol Course.
Step 2 – A State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers can only be acquired once an individual has a Local Permit. Local permits can be obtained by submitting the application Form DPS-799-C to the applicant’s local Police Department or First Selectman. The cost is $70 and takes approximately eight (8) weeks to process.
Step 3 – A criminal history check will be performed by local law enforcement agency once the applicant has submitted their fingerprints. There is a $50 and $12 fee (must be separate checks) associated with this procedure.
Step 4 – Once an individual has been approved for a local permit, their local Police Department will issue a Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (Form DPS-11-C).
Step 5 – Within a sixty (60) day period, the applicant must submit the following forms and documentation to the DESPP:
- Form DPS-11-C
- Form DPS-46-C (only available in person at the DESPP)
- $70 fee (payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut)
- Proof of U.S. citizenship
- State issued photo identification
Step 6 – If the application is approved, applicants will have their photograph taken at the DESPP and a State Pistol Permit will be issued.