A Colorado gun background check must be initiated when transferring firearms to an individual, regardless of whether the dealer is licensed or not. An unlicensed individual/dealer can only transfer possession of a firearm once a background check has been conducted by a licensed gun dealer and the transfer has been approved by the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI). Background checks must be conducted for individuals applying for a concealed carry weapon permit (applicants must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. No persons under the age of eighteen (18) are legally permitted to purchase/acquire/possess a firearm.
Some exceptions will avoid the firearms transferring process and background check requirements. Exceptions to the new Colorado gun laws include the following:
- the transferring of antique firearms
- gifts between close family members
- transfers upon death
- temporary transfer in the transferees home
- temporary transfer at a shooting range
- shooting competitions
Bill of Sale – Used to perform a transaction between buyer and seller of a firearm.
The Department of the Treasure Firearms Transaction Record (Form 4473) – Must be completed by both the buyer and seller of a firearm.
For Sale of a Gun
Step 1 – The buyer must complete Section A of Form 4473 and the seller will complete Section B.
Step 2 – It is the duty of the seller to arrange for a licensed firearms dealer (FFL) to perform a background check on the individual wishing to purchase the weapon. The FFL dealer (List of Colorado Federal Firearms License (FFL) Gun Dealers) is in charge of contacting the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) after having verified the identity of the purchaser.
Step 3 – The FFL will provide the CBI with all the necessary information from the Form 4473. The CBI will give an ‘approval’ or ‘denial’ number, which the FFL must share with the seller/purchaser.
Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) Permit
Step 1 – Complete the Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Application.
Step 2 – Submit the permit application to your local County Sheriff’s Office.
Fees – Initial applications and renewals: $52.50; Temporary Emergency Permits: $30.50. According to § 18-12-205(2)(b), a county sheriff cannot charge more than $100 for processing a permit application.