A California gun background check is required to be run on an individual purchasing a firearm from a licensed dealer or if he or she is applying for a Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) license. Under a private sale (in accordance with the State), it’s required to be conducted through a licensed dealer verifying the buyer is at least eighteen (18) years of age (twenty-one (21) years old for handgun purchases) and will be subject to a ten (10) day holding period.
Bill of Sale – Use to facilitate a transfer between a buyer and seller for a set price ($).
Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) Worksheet (Form BOF 929) – Required to be completed by a licensed dealer at the time of sale.
Personal Firearms Eligibility Check Application (Form BOF 116) – Allows an individual to see if they are eligible to purchase a gun.
Prohibited from Purchasing – Individuals that have a conviction (misdemeanor or felony) under Penal Code § 29805
For Sale of a Gun
Step 1 – The buyer of the gun will need to fill-in Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) Worksheet (Form BOF 929)
Step 2 – There is a fee assessed of $25 for every gun purchase in California. Furthermore, all gun transactions need to be conducted at a licensed dealer (even for Private Party arrangements) and they may charge up to an additional $10 for processing.
The background check is then conducted by the licensed dealer using https://des.doj.ca.gov/ and logging in.
Step 3 – The State requires a mandatory 10-day waiting period for all individuals unless the gun is over 50 years old (per § 26500). After the waiting period has concluded the buyer will be told whether they are eligible to purchase the firearm.
Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) License
Step 1 – Fill-in the Concealed Carry Weapon Application (Form BOF 412)
Step 2 – Bring the form to your local County Sheriff’s Office in the jurisdiction of residency. The Sheriff’s office will complete the application process.
- Fees – $200 – $300 depending on the county as a mandatory fingerprints and background check will be processed.
- Training – If training is required it will typically tale 1-2 days and a extra $100.